Ginny (My first bridal makeup)

Image

Ginny or Guinevere Gonzales Chan is my first bridal client. I have done bridal makeups before for the sheer purpose of practicing the au naturelle look but Ginny is the first bride who entrusted her wedding day look to my hands. A week before her wedding, her wedding planner and “best”, a common friend of ours Ken Jimenez gave me several rings while I was out in the sun having a pre-nup shoot. He asked me if I can do a bridal trial for his friend that day. Though the prenup shoot ended late in the afternoon, I mustered the energy to do Ginny’s trial makeup in the evening. For a makeup artist, that requires extra energy boost which came from passion for makeup itself. Hehe. If this isn’t really your thing, you would yield right away to the fatigue that comes from working for an all day location shoot.

Ken said Ginny was looking for an airbrush makeup artist but the price here in La Union is just unbelievably high. So he suggested to try me since my work was close to airbrush. It’s really nice to hear that since I haven’t caught up yet with the trend of using airbrush gun to spray on makeup, the latest in makeup technology. I am still the conventional brush-type makeup artist. It’s how all MUA’s begin.

Image

I first met Ginny, Gio and Giada, their cute little darling in the car while on our way to Gio’s house where we did the trial makeup. Gio’s mom was so accommodating to have prepared dinner for us. We ate dinner first, together with their “barkada.” It was their post Christmas get together and dance rehearsal for Gio and Ginny’s wedding program. This trial makeup was “literally” a makeup on trial as the barkada of the couple are there watching us put on makeup layer by layer and see Ginny slowly transform. The air was filled with jokes, silly laughter and funny punchlines. Then it was time for the boys to practice their Gangnam dance. Thankfully, the distraction has left Ginny, me and Ken to work our magic. 🙂

Image

Ginny is pretty even without makeup. She has flawless and fair skin, untouched brows, cute face, defined eyes and pouty lips. There are no problem areas to address. So the bridal look was easy to create. Before we did the trial, Ken showed me a peg from a magazine which is a classic bride look. No frills, no fuss. Fresh, clean, bright eyes, pink lips and cheeks. Everything classy and natural.

Ginny requested to use her own products for foundation, lipstick and mascara. We used Revlon Photoready Mousse foundation, which matches perfectly Ginny’s fair complexion, Revlon lipstick in Peach and Revlon Mascara. To conceal her under eye circles, I used MUD Concealer. For her brows, I used Prestige brown pencil.  For her eyes, I used a combination of MUD eyeshadow colors in Dulce de Leche, Chamois, Espresso and Onyx. I used Prestige black eyeliner to line her lash lines. I also applied false lashes to open up her eyes, which is a must for defined eyes in photos. I applied a peachy pink blush from my Face to Face palette. Lastly, I filled in her lips with peach lipstick and topped it off with another pink color from my palette since the peach is too nude for her.

Here’s another glimpse of Ginny with a cheerful aura inside the bridal car:

Image

I hope Ginny loved her look as much as I did. It may not be as perfect as the magazine peg but I think Ginny was glowing and radiant on her big day. To Gio and Ginny, may your marriage be strong and firm in the Lord. Wish you all the luck as you tread life’s journey together. Stay strong amidst challenges and be joyful for your life’s blessings. Congratulations and God bless!

To Ken, the brilliant wedding planner, thank you for making me part of this celebration of love. And thank you for giving me the opportunity to practice my makeup. 😉

Lastly, I thank God for granting my wish to have at least one bridal client before 2012 ends. 🙂

Leave a comment